Luke’s reminder again of the worthiness of the messenger…

Standard
Gospel of Luke

Gospel of Luke

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  and as John was completing his course, he would say, ‘What do you suppose that I am? I am not he. Behold, one is coming after me; I am not worthy to unfasten the sandals of his feet.’  (Acts 13:25)

Observation:  It was in the 3rd chapter of Luke’s gospel where the Luke the Evangelist writes about John the Baptist saying that he is not worthy to loosen the thongs of his sandals.  I believe that both of these accounts from Luke’s writings are great reminders of the worthiness of the messenger.  For me, no matter how much I feel called to bring the message of the gospel to as many people as possible, I must remember to focus the attention on the one who is worthy to get the attention, because I am truly not worthy to even look upon the feet of our Savior, much less actually touch his feet.

Personification: Kindness  I will try to focus on displaying the fruit of kindness today and everyday.  The kindness that comes from the grace that I will hopefully be able to recieve from the Eucharist today.  I will remember that the grace is a gift of the holy Spirit and not an award for anything that I have done.  The truth is, I would not receive an award for any of my actions without the inspiration and guidance of God, through the power of the holy Spirit and by the saving grace that comes to me as a result of the Son’s crucifixion.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

