Is God making a dwelling with me?

Standard
Fra Bartolomeo, Annunciation, 1509

The ultimate in-dwelling...IMO!

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Jesus answered and said to him, “Whoever loves me will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him. ”  (John 14:23)

Observation: In reading the gospel on my own this morning, before I attended our communion service, I was moved by this verse.  It was that we heard yesterday that Jesus said he is preparing a dwelling place for those that are his disciples, but also because the idea that God would consider my opinion when making this dwelling.  I may be considering this verse incorrectly, but I also see that if we are keeping his commandments, we will be opening our hearts to receiving God into them.  Jesus is telling me that if I want God to dwell in my heart, I need only clear out the space and follow his commands.

Personification: Faithfulness  It seems simple to follow the will of God and keep his commands when I think of God making his dwelling with me, no matter the context of the phrase.  I am overjoyed with the fact that God considers me worth paying any attention to at all.  I hope I can display the fruit of faithfulness with the grace that flows freely from God and by keeping his commands by the power of that grace, not just today, but forever.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on keeping your commands in this moment and rest in the knowledge that your plans for my future will take care of themselves.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

