Were we expecting something easier?

Standard
St Luke the Painter

Image by Lawrence OP via Flickr

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  They strengthened the spirits of the disciples and exhorted them to persevere in the faith, saying, “It is necessary for us to undergo many hardships to enter the kingdom of God.”  (Acts 14:22)

Observations:  This was the first verse that jumped out at me from the first reading.  There was another verse from the gospel reading that I spent a good amount of time considering, based on a movie I watched last night called, “The Rite”.  I decided to journal on this one, however, because I am going to lead a Bible study later today, and I am hoping that one of the young adults in attendance will choose to focus on discussing that verse there.  For this verse, I am hearing that the disciples of Jesus Christ should not assume that the struggle to gain and keep their faith will be easy.

Personification: Self-Control  It would be so easy to give up on displaying the fruit of self-control, because it is a real hardship to keep denying myself and not giving in to the desires of the flesh.  Even though I have focused on displaying the fruit of self-control many times before, I still struggle with displaying it now in my life.  I just hope that my weakness will help others be strong and know that they must be faithful to gospel and not allow the hardship of a life of faith stop them from persevering.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that everyone I meet today will be encouraged to persevere through their own personal sufferings, with the knowledge that God has great plans for their future.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Were we expecting something easier?

Leave a Reply

