Apart from Him I’m zip, zero, ziltch, nada, nothing…(Lecrae, “More”)

Standard
Lecrae on the 2009 DWYL Tour

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  I am the vine, you are the branches. Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit, because without me you can do nothing.  (John 15:5)

Observation:  I was thinking of a certain Lecrae song again as I was reading this verse this morning.  I think I will make a video of this song today, if it hasn’t been done yet.  It is easy for me to see that unless I am leaning on the truth that is revealed through the Word of God and the Sacred Tradition that has been handed down through the church, I will fall miserably into more and more sin.  If I remember that I am a branch on the vine that is being expected to bear good fruit, and I am nothing without his saving grace than I should be able to repent of my past sinfulness and not put myself in positions of temptation.

Personification: Love  It can only be by displaying the fruit of love that flows through me by the grace of God that I can be sure of my observance of God’s commands.  The love that I receive from God should pass through me to others to be able to transform me into the person that he is calling me to be.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be more patient with those people who you put in my life and be a good steward of the gifts that you have given me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

