What does the Father’s love look like?

Standard
c. 1632

God's love looked like this...

Gift: Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love.  (John 15:10)

Observation:  Since I have talked about my joy being completed before, I did not choose to discuss the 12th verse from the gospel reading this morning.  However, I did choose to discuss an issue that I think a lot of Christians, including myself, struggle with.  It is the issue of what should we be expecting, if we are keeping the commandments as Jesus is instructing us here.  If we follow the example of Jesus, we should expect suffering to be an part of showing our love.

Personification:  Love  I don’t know if it is the proper forum to discuss displaying love in this way, but I am going to do it anyway.  It will be my focus today to find a way to love others to the point where it hurts.  This is the love that Jesus showed us, and I think this is the love that he is calling us to show others.  It may not put a smile on my face, but it will bring me joy.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to remember that suffering for others is what brings real joy and it is the only way to be able to show the real love that you commanded that we show to others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

