Still dying…not dead yet…Let me say, “I died today!”…Amen?

Standard
Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...
Image via Wikipedia

Scripture:  As it is written: “For your sake we are being slain all the day; we are looked upon as sheep to be slaughtered.” No, in all these things we conquer overwhelmingly through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor present things, 9nor future things, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, 10 nor any other creature will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.  (Romans 8:36-39)

Observation:  It is my belief that this journal is in response to all those people who think they know the time or at least the day that Jesus will return.  My response is to get busy dying now, because I am still trying to die to my selfishness after over 15 years as a Christian and I still feel tempted to give in to the flesh.  If you wait until that last moment before you think Jesus will return, how do you even know that you will be able to see him beyond your sin?

Application:  Today, it will be my choice to continue to try to die to sin with the grace of God that will come to me because of my willingness to give up my will in favor of his.  It is not because of anything that I will do, rather my death to this world will be as it always is, a free gift, that will free me to follow his will.

Prayer:  Lord, it is only by my complete surrender and understanding that if I was left alone I would be involved in sin now, that I can see that your power and grace are enough to bring me under your protection.  Please keep me in this protection today and forever.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

