It is hard to hear the truth sometimes…

Standard
Photo Feb 22, 10 59 19 PM

Image by S. David Bradley via Flickr

Gift: Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  If you belonged to the world, the world would love its own; but because you do not belong to the world, and I have chosen you out of the world, the world hates you.  (John 15:19)

Observation:  As I sat down this morning reading the responsorial Psalm and the gospel reading with my daughter, who is 6 weeks old on my lap, I realized how difficult it is to hear the good news sometimes.  As I looked into her eyes and said that it was a reading from the Gospel according to John, I found myself having to say that it means “Good News”.  I know she can’t understand, but I can.  I know that the world is not making it easier to live out your life as a disciple of Jesus Christ, and it won’t be easy for her to grow up in this world.  It must be helpful to realize that the world hates you, or Jesus wouldn’t have said it, but it still doesn’t make it easy to hear.

Personification: Joy  The fruit that I chose to display comes from the responsorial Psalm for today’s Mass readings.  It says, “Let all the earth cry out to God with joy.”  It will be my focus for today and hopefully for the rest of my life to cry out with joy to God.

Prayer:  Lord, let me see your face in the people who you would have me speak to today about your goodness.  Please help me to be joyful in your presence at all times today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “It is hard to hear the truth sometimes…

  1. Jeremy

    Good morning brother,

    I understand that the world is not where our souls will rest but what I don’t understand is why the good and enlightened people of earth are always doomed to persecution. I find myself confused because I want to believe that those responsible for the technical advancement of society are inherently good people due to their purpose, however, throughout history the scientific and philosophic people have to work in shadow and even hide their true identity from society to avoid even religious persecution. I understand that the world is often unaccepting of new knowledge when first introduced but how can knowledge that had been around for over 2000 years still create such disbelief and persecution? Until the world learns three basic human principles: faith, understand, and acceptance we will continue to suffer persecution due to misunderstanding and unacceptance of where people place their faith.

    The kingdom of heaven is within us all

  2. Buenos Dias hermano,

    You make a good point, as usual. However, my question back to you would be who are these good and enlightened people that you speak of…Jesus said that, “No one is good but God alone.” (Luke 18:19b) As for enlightenment, there is only one form of enlightenment that I know of, and that is Jesus, who said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” (john 8:12)
    My post was not about the people of this earth that will be persecuted, rather the people who believe in God and carry Jesus in their heart to this world, and agree to fearlessly proclaim the Good News. The Word tells us that if we are to follow Jesus, we must deny ourselves, take up our cross, and follow him. (Matthew 16:24) The three basic principles you speak of are not human, they are gifts and fruits of the holy Spirit that come to us by the grace of God, not because of what we are taught, unfortunately. I’m sorry to say that you are mistaken about the kingdom of heaven being within us all, because if that is true, the property value of the kingdom is reduced greatly when it resides in this lowly sinner. Jesus made that statement in reference to a question from the Pharisees about the arrival of the kingdom, to say that the kingdom is among you and you need only accept it the way that God is revealing it to you, and then you can have it. He was telling them, in my opinion, that they should not expect the kingdom to come in their own way. (Luke 17:20-21) Today’s post should continue to shed more light on how I believe God is revealing His truth to me and you…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

