Today marks a new start to the day for me…

Standard
Angelus

Image by theroamincatholic via Flickr

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  cried out in a loud voice and said, “Most blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb.  (Luke 1:42)

Blessed are you who believed 15 that what was spoken to you by the Lord would be fulfilled.”  (Luke 1:45)

And Mary said: 16“My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord; my spirit rejoices in God my saviorFor he has looked upon his handmaid’s lowliness; (Luke 1:46-48)

Observation:  We started our discussion with the fact that we all had the same reaction when we heard the words of Elizabeth as she said that we have heard many times in the beginning of the Hail Mary prayer.  After that, someone to focus on the 45th verse that lead into the verses that I had selected this morning, because it is awesome to think about how amazing Mary’s faith had to be to accept this mission.  Finally, two people agreed that the 48th verse was very impactful, because it reminds us of how she and we are chosen because of our low status, or humility, not because we are great people to start with.  It was awesome to me to see that what the group selected just surrounded the verses that I had already picked this morning. 

Personification:  It was my focus today to begin every day from now on with the reminder of the fact that I am nothing without the Lord, and keep these verses in my heart and mind as I start each new day.  I imagine that since almost everyone wrote it down, we are all going to try to focus on the idea that our soul should be glorifying the Lord, and our spirit should be rejoicing in God, our Savior.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that our group of young people who are committed to Christ in our church will be empowered by the holy Spirit to be unashamed of the gospel and to live their lives for you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

