Are we more privileged than the apostles?

Standard
Anthonis van Dyck - Die Ausgießung des Heilige...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  I have much more to tell you, but you cannot bear it now.”  (John 16:12)

Observation:  It was brilliant what Jesus says about the Spirit of truth immediately after the verse that I chose to journal on today.  However, I chose this verse because it shows me that Jesus was not afraid to tell his apostles that they couldn’t handle the truth yet.  As the footnotes says, it wasn’t because the holy Spirit was going to come and reveal any further truth to them, but he would bring clarity to the truth that had already been revealed.  In my opinion, this would allow them and through the apostolic tradition, us, to discern what is the real path that God wanted them to be on, even if the story did not necessarily make sense, according to our human understanding, at the time.

Personification: Patience  It is my hope that today and every day for the rest of my life, I can wait on the Spirit of truth that Jesus promises in the gospel reading today to reveal the truth to the church and by my association with it, me.  I will try my best not to jump to conclusions about what truth I want to be revealed and allow the holy Spirit to work to bring about the truth when I am ready to hear it.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to open up your Word to me and to the other people who are struggling to keep their faith and keep the church’s eyes focused on the truth that is being revealed from the holy Spirit.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

