Have you asked for it in Jesus’ name?

Standard
Sperindio Cagnola, God the Father, with the Bl...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Until now you have not asked anything in my name; ask and you will receive, so that your joy may be complete.  (John 16:24)

Observation:  This idea of making requests to God in Jesus’ name has come up a lot in the daily Mass readings for the last two weeks.  I have purposely stayed away from journaling on it, because I know I have journaled on it before.  However, today it struck me differently than I believe it ever has before.  In the verses that precede this verse in the gospel reading for today, Jesus says that the apostles will already have their joy in their hearts from seeing him again, just like we should.  However, our joy will not be complete until we learn to align our will with that of the Father and only ask him for the things that will really complete our joy, as it says in the verse that I chose to focus on today.  It is not about temporal happiness, not even the temporal happiness that the apostles got, in seeing the resurrected Christ, it is about a sincere conversion with a repentant heart that brings about real joy.

Personification: Kindness  There is always a moment as I reflect on the fruits of the Spirit where I say, I should be focusing on displaying all of these…So, I hope that my narrowing it down to one fruit does not diminish this intention of displaying them all today…However, if I was going to put all of them into one fruit, it would be love.  I chose kindness today, because I really hope that I can display the fruit of kindness in my life to everyone I meet today, and I guess the best way to do that is to remember the command of Jesus to “Love one another.”

Prayer:  Lord, let me see your face in everyone that I meet today and allow me to act with love, compassion and kindness toward them all.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

