Do you believe now?

Standard
God the Father on a throne, with Virgin Mary a...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  Jesus answered them, “Do you believe now? Behold, the hour is coming and has arrived when each of you will be scattered 8to his own home and you will leave me alone. But I am not alone, because the Father is with me. I have told you this so that you might have peace in me. In the world you will have trouble, but take courage, I have conquered the world.”  (John 16:31-33)

Observation:  If I truly believe than I can expect trouble, but I know that Jesus conquered the world and I can too with his help.  I take this gospel reading this morning to mean that if we are not in the church, or working to support our church and family, then we should be at home with our family.  There is no reason to be away from our family, except if we are serving God in the church. 

Personification: Faithfulness  To me, displaying the fruit of faithfulness requires following the will of God for me in my life.  The realization this morning that Jesus did not say that I will leave you alone for a while, but we will leave him alone is a hard concept to understand.  He makes it a little better by saying that He is not alone, because the Father is with Him, but the idea that we leave Him is still sad.  However, the idea that we are making new disciples or taking care of the disciples in our families while we are away from Him, does make it a little easier to take.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to always be with my family if I am away from You and the church.  Please help me to see that I never really leave your presence, because I should see You in those that I love.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

