A simple request…”Follow me.”

Standard
Painting of Saint Peter by Peter Paul Rubens d...

Painting of Saint Peter by Peter Paul Rubens

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  He said this signifying by what kind of death he would glorify God. And when he had said this, he said to him, “Follow me.”  (John 21:19)

Observation:  Earlier in this gospel reading, Jesus gave Peter a chance to redeem himself from his denial when he was arrested by the Jewish officials.  With the way that Jesus was persecuted clearly in Peter’s mind, Jesus says those simple words, “Follow me.”  I can imagine the thoughts that must have gone through Peter’s mind at that moment.  Knowing the predictions of the end of time that was predicted in the book of Daniel, and wondering how God was going to use him to bring the salvation story to its conclusion.  We are told that he expected the end to come soon, so he had to be wondering how he would be used to bring it about, since Jesus was clearly putting him in charge.

Personification: Faithfulness  I will focus on displaying the fruit of faithfulness in my life today, by seeing those words of Jesus directed at me.  If I choose to deny myself and follow Jesus, what decisions will I make about building up his kingdom today instead of building up myself?  How can I best show the Lord that I want to be under his protection and keep his Word alive?

Prayer:  Lord, I want to be a soldier in your fight against the evil that is holding people back from following your will for their life.  Please help me to stay focused on the path that you have laid out before me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “A simple request…”Follow me.”

Leave a Reply

