Jesus repeats his request to Peter, “You follow me.”

Standard
St John the evangelist

St John the evangelist

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  Jesus said to him, “What if I want him to remain until I come? 12 What concern is it of yours? You follow me.”  There are also many other things that Jesus did, but if these were to be described individually, I do not think the whole world would contain the books that would be written.  (John 21:22,25)

Observation:  Yesterday’s gospel reading we heard how Jesus told Peter to follow him and I wrote about how Peter might have thought about what persecutions may lay before him.  Jesus does not give him anytime to dwell on that.  After Peter mentions John as the one who Jesus loved as a possible alternative for leadership, Jesus says that it is my call to do what I want with you disciples and you are called to follow me.  Shortly after that we read in the 25th verse that John the evangelist realizes that there are so many things that could be written about the things that Jesus did while he was on earth that he had not written.  I think for Peter, he saw, and we should see that the mission that was started with Jesus was so amazing, that the persecutions that lay before us should pale in comparison to the glory that God has planned for those who follow his will for them.

Personification: Self-Control  It is always a struggle for me to decide to display the fruit of self-control…Because more that any other fruit of the holy Spirit, self-control is so out of my control.  It is the most ironic of the fruits, in my opinion, because it says self-control, yet I know that I am unable to control myself without the grace and peace that comes from God.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see the fruit of self-control as an opportunity to show your power to the world today and every day for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

