If only we could see it posted it on YouTube…Jesus says, “Receive the holy Spirit.”

Standard
Toruń, church of St. James, Descent of the Hol...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God. 

Reading:  14(Jesus) said to them again, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I send you.”  15And when he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, “Receive the holy Spirit.  16 Whose sins you forgive are forgiven them, and whose sins you retain are retained.”  (John 20:21-23)

Observation:  As I read these words this morning from the gospel reading for Pentecost Sunday, I was imagining what the video would look like.  I mean, if we had a video of Jesus breathing the holy Spirit into the apostles.  I am left wondering this morning what the breath of the holy Spirit looks like, as well as how would it feel when it hits you.  In my mind, I see the breath as the most amazing cool breeze on a hot day or as a warm breeze on a cold day…However, once the holy Spirit was received, we know that the Spirit revealed itself through them as tongues of fire.

Personification:  Gentleness  Even though the holy Spirit was manifested in the apostles as tongues of fire, I am seeing a different view of the holy Spirit for me today.  I guess the jury is still out, or maybe it isn’t, about how the holy Spirit will manifest itself in me.  I want to focus today on receiving it with gentleness and being able to display that same gentleness to others.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

