A challenge for our modern church…

Standard
Jesus Christ baroque sculpture in Holy Spirit ...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Give to the one who asks of you, and do not turn your back on one who wants to borrow.  (Matthew 5:42)

Observation:  This is just hard to hear today, because my concern is not about providing for others who will ask of me, but rather the others who might be put off because we have panhandlers coming to the church all the time because of my decision to give when asked.  This is just hard to hear because I have accepted the lie from the devil that says that he will torment me forever with bad people, if I give to someone in need.  The truth is that I must just always have a giving heart and not hold on to possessions and God will guard whatever decision I make in his name.

Personification: Faithfulness  In order to display the fruit of faithfulness today, I must be willing to just follow the directions of the holy Spirit and obey the Word of God in my life.  I must do this when I feel prompted regardless of the implications for the future, because we cannot know the future.

Prayer:  Lord, please lead me in your ways and help me to throw my old doubting ways away.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “A challenge for our modern church…

  1. Thanks for the link…Your post is right on about SALT, and I believe the SALT is coming, and a lot of it…Now, we just have to remember that it is not going to taste good, but it will preserve us forever if we remember what it is for…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

