In the first reading, we are pointed to share in the Eucharist…In the gospel, pray quietly…How does this work?…

Standard
The Last Supper of Jesus Christ

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  5 You are being enriched in every way for all generosity, which through us produces thanksgiving to God.  (2 Corinthians 9:11)

&

But when you pray, go to your inner room, close the door, and pray to your Father in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will repay you.  (Matthew 6:6)

Observation:  In the footnote for the first reading, I read that we should always remember that we must come together in some form to give us a chance to recognize the needs of those that are less fortunate in our community, and be generous with the gifts that we have been given.  In my opinion, this is why we meet for the breaking of the bread and sharing in the Eucharistic meal.  However, in the gospel reading for today’s Mass, Jesus makes it very clear that we should not make spectacles of ourselves in prayer.  Rather, we should make our prayer an internal one and know that He hears all of them.  This does not exclude us from celebrating the Mass, it gives us instructions on how we are to internalize our worship experience.

Personification: Love  I am hearing today that I should be displaying the fruit of love in a way that does not get in the way of others being able to share the love that God gave them.  This means, that no matter where I  am choosing to worship God, I should do so in a way that respects the other people who may be worshipping around me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be an example today for everyone who sees me in prayer today.  Please help me to show that it is not about what I say that is important, but what you repeat back to me through your people I meet in my life today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

