You will focus on where you spend your money…Darkness or light?…Your choice…

Standard
Darkratos Light&Darkness

Darkratos Light

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  14The lamp of the body is the eye. If your eye is sound, your whole body will be filled with light; but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be in darkness. And if the light in you is darkness, how great will the darkness be.”  (Matthew 6:22-23)

Observation:  Today, I am hearing that Jesus is making it clear that wherever my money is, that is what I will focus on.  The imagery of the eye being sound, which filled the body with light, and the bad eye that caused the body to be in darkness was tough to see at first.  The 23rd verse brought it all together because it says if the light in you is darkness, which means to me that if the earthly possessions that money can buy me, are the only things that make me really happy, how dark is my future when the money runs out?  (See verse 19 – same chapter in gospel of Matthew)

Personification: Self-Control  I think the Word is revealing to me this morning that the key to self-control lies within the concept of money.  I don’t know that I completely understand it yet, but I am feeling like if I can get a handle on how and where our money is spent, and make sure it is predominately going to build up His kingdom, and not mine, I will be well on the way to allowing God to take control of every other aspect of my life.

Prayer:  Our Father, who is in Heaven, Holy be your name.  Your kingdom come, Your will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.  And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “You will focus on where you spend your money…Darkness or light?…Your choice…

  1. jr10electro

    Here is what I gathered from today’s observations of the word. You have to bring your focus onto the light, or right, or good side of what you base your “vision” to be. If you focus on the wrong end result or if the wrong things are guiding your sight then the result will be just that, wrong. So what you have gathered is that what you focus your finances on is what is guiding your sight. The more unrelated to the Church your mind wants to focus money on, the more the darkness is driving your vision. I am trying to relate this to me personally and what I can say is that, for me, focus needs to more more directed on what is most important, i.e. needs rather than wants and that should direct my focus more towards what God is trying to do with me. This way I can be more calm and understanding of the fact that God has control and so long as I listen and focus where God wants me the truth will be revealed, slowly but surely. On the other hand, if I fight the vision and try to create my own reality by force then the darkness WILL control both body and mind and drive me further from the truth and into further despair.

    “God, quiet my mind and help me to focus on what your plan is for me. Lend me divine light to cut through the dark fog and to see the pathway you have illuminated before me. Help me to deny false and dwindling flame for the eternal fire that you provide for those who choose to see. I ask these things in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.”

    Love you Brother,

    -J

Leave a Reply

