A person with a messy desk shouldn’t do a presentation on organization, right?

Standard
Orchid - 1

Image by pcgn7 via Flickr

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  You hypocrite, 3 remove the wooden beam from your eye first; then you will see clearly to remove the splinter from your brother’s eye.  (Matthew 7:5)

Observation:  I didn’t include the rest of the gospel reading today in my choice of verses to reflect on because they are kind of contradicted by this one, in a sense.  Jesus is saying to not judge others at the beginning of the gospel, but he ends by saying that we can help with a splinter, once the wooden beam is removed from our eye.  To me, this is like saying what I said in the title for my journal today.  My title is a little less dramatic, and the point is that both the person with the messy desk and the person listening to the presentation are in need of help.  Even though, I may be very capable to minister to people about many subjects, I should not attempt to help anyone who struggles with the same issues that I do, unless I am just offering support as someone who suffers from the same problem that I do.

Personification:  Gentleness  It is my intention to focus on the fruit of gentleness today in my life.  I will choose to show the gentleness that comes from a sincere understanding of my weaknesses and willingness to share the struggles of others, and help when possible.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to better understand my own weaknesses, so that I can help others in ways that you are calling me to.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

