The Magnificat Prayer…

Standard
Icon of Magnificat (Yaroslavl)

Image via Wikipedia

It was a couple of weeks ago that I decided to change-up my routine of morning prayers by including the beginning of the Magnificat to my litany of prayers.  I struggled with changing the words to fit me, but still feel a sense of calm as I say them right after I get up and before I do anything else.  After reading the responsorial Psalm for today’s Mass readings, I feel a little better about changing the words to fit me.  The words of the Responsorial Psalm for today begin with:

“My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord,
my spirit rejoices in God my Savior.”
“For he has looked with favor on his lowly servant.”

They are taken from the first chapter of Luke, the 46th through 48th verse.  When I recite it first thing in the morning, I usually leave out the end of the 48th verse, because it seems presumptuous of me to say that all generations would call me blessed.  Unlike Mary, I am not without sin, therefore it is difficult for me to see myself being called blessed.  However, as I read it in the responsorial again today, I felt like maybe I should see myself as being called blessed.  I mean, we are all called to be saints and maybe it would help me stay focused on who God is calling me to be everyday if I reminded myself of this when I first woke up.  So, it is decided…The Magnificat Prayer, in its entirety will join my litany of prayers in the morning…Thanks be to God…Thanks be to the Blessed Virgin Mary for giving us such a perfect example of how to say, “Yes” to God…

My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord, my spirit rejoices in God my Savior for he has looked with favor on his lowly servant.  From this day all generations will call me blessed:  the Almighty has done great things for me, and holy is his Name.  He has mercy on those who fear him in every generation.  He has shown the strength of his arm, he has scattered the proud in their conceit.  He has cast down the mighty from their thrones, and has lifted up the lowly.  He has filled the hungry with good things, and the rich he has sent away empty.  He has come to the help of his servant Israel for he has remembered his promise of mercy, the promise he made to our fathers, to Abraham and his children for ever.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

