His yoke is easy, and burden light?

Standard
"Jeremiah Lamenting the Destruction of Je...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  15Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, 16and I will give you rest17 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for your selves.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”  (Matthew 11:28-30)

Observation:  Everytime I have read these gospel verses in the past, even when I heard them in Mass before, I think I struggled with the fact that Jesus is saying that His burden is light and yoke is easy.  It is not that I haven’t found it helpful to hear the call to obedience to His Word as a liberating experience, it is just that judging from His crucifixion and death you might think that He was being a bit sarcastic here.  The footnote for the 29th verse references Jeremiah 6:16, which reads:

3 Thus says the LORD: Stand beside the earliest roads, ask the pathways of old Which is the way to good, and walk it; thus you will find rest for your souls.

So, when the verse of Matthew’s gospel is read in the context of us looking to what he endured for us, and see that His path is leading us to rest in Him, I see now that the yoke that He places on me is easy and the burden is light, in comparison to what Jesus suffered for me.

Personification:  Love  I choose today to focus on displaying the fruit of love to everyone I meet today.  It seems appropriate on the day that we celebrate the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, that I make a special effort to pass on the fruit that has always been tied to the heart.  There is no greater love than the love that Jesus showed us on the cross. (See John 15:13)  I can only hope to show a glimpse of that love with whatever I am privileged to sacrifice for someone today.

Prayer:  Lord, let me be an instrument of your love today.  Saint Francis, pray for us.  Saint Alice, pray for us.  GLORIOUS Archangel Saint Raphael, of the glorious seven who stand before the throne of Him who lives and reigns, Angel of Health! The Lord has filled your hand
with balm from heaven to soothe or cure our pains heal or cure the victim of
disease, and guide our steps when doubtful of our ways.  +Amen!


 

Leave a Reply

