We believe…He was born of the Virgin Mary, and became man…And she was and is, a WOMAN…

Standard
19th century painting of Our Lady.

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  When his parents saw him, they were astonished, and his mother said to him, “Son, why have you done this to us? Your father and I have been looking for you with great anxiety.”  (Luke 2:48)

Observation:  My understanding of the gospel this morning is probably colored by the first reading and the manipulation that we see from Rebekah to make sure that Jacob received the blessing instead of his brother Esau.  However, I cannot get over the fact that Luke, who is the evangelist that most often includes women in parts of the salvation story that the others have excluded, decides to show this moment of anxiety that Mary had with the loss of her Son.  I mean there are many ways you could tell the story.  Like, after looking for three days, Mary decided with her most chaste spouse, Joseph, to search the temple and ask God to bring Him back to them.  Not here, Luke says that she chastises Jesus with the phrase, “Why have you done this to us?”  Now, the interpretation of the next line is what will probably get me into trouble in some circles.  She says that she and Joseph have been looking for Him with great anxiety.  Now, I am not saying that she wasn’t telling the truth, but my assumption is that she had the great anxiety, while Joseph was probably more somewhat anxious.  However, I will say that I find myself being more anxious about things, the longer I have been married.  I think men, in general, are more prone to think logically and women are more apt to react emotionally.  Don’t get me wrong, I have a tendency to act out of emotion at times, and I pray that the Lord helps me with that.  However, I am taking away from this gospel message today that our Blessed Virgin Mary was a mother and a woman, with all the feelings and emotions that comes with that.  I am not going to assume to know what that means, because I am sure that would get me into more trouble.  I do thank Luke the Evangelist for sharing this glimpse into the humanity of our Blessed Mother, and I hope this knowledge will strengthen my devotion to the intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Personification: Patience  The fruit of the Spirit that I hope to display today is patience.  In my observation above, I was trying to point out how the anxiety of our Blessed Mother shows us that she was female, because the women in my life seem to be filled with this same anxiety.  However, I found that it is my hope and prayer that the Lord can work on me to be more patience with others, not just my wife and children, but everyone who comes into my path.

Prayer:  Immaculate Heart of Mary, pray for us.  Our Lady of Guadalupe, pray for us.  Saint Joseph, pray for us.  Lord, send down your Guardian Angels to protect my family.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “We believe…He was born of the Virgin Mary, and became man…And she was and is, a WOMAN…

Leave a Reply

