The laborers have been sent…Don’t stop praying…We need more…

Standard
St. Maria Parish Church, Sehnde, Holy Mass

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is abundant but the laborers are few; so ask the master of the harvest to send out laborers for his harvest.”  (Matthew 9:37-38)

Observation:  As I read the end of the gospel reading for today’s Mass readings this morning, I was struck by the fact that our church is a recipient of one of the newer laborers.  I’d like to say that it was because of all of our prayers that we said as I led our communion services about sending out laborers for the harvest, but it is more likely because the God of the universe knows that we need a new sense of urgency in our evangelism in our church.  I am sure the prayers did not hurt, and for that reason I am thankful to God for hearing our prayers.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It is for the reason that I stated above about the answer to our prayers, that I will put on display the fruit of faithfulness today.  I will display this fruit by continuing to pray that the master of the harvest continue to send out more laborers for the harvest.

Prayer:  Lord, I ask that you continue to send out more laborers for the harvest and you continue to form me in your ways, so that I can be ready to follow your will for my life, when you call.  Thank you for the answer to my prayer, and I am sorry for not always living up to the potential that you know I can.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

