Suffer today, rejoice tomorrow…

Standard
IMG_0439

Image by MAICOP via Flickr

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  4 I consider that the sufferings of this present time are as nothing compared with the glory to be revealed for us.  (Romans 8:18)

Observation:  As I read this verse this morning, I thought of all the suffering that my family goes through because of my chosen profession.  I could choose to do just about anything to make more money than I do currently.  However, as I try to repeat to my boys often that until we figure out how to be thankful for what we have, we will not recieve more.  As we hear in this verse today, we should not only be thankful but content to suffer whatever God would have us suffer, because the rejoicing at the glory of God will make up for any suffering.

Personification:  Self-Control  I will choose to display the fruit of self-control that comes from the grace of God.  The truth is, I could not display any self-control in my life without the grace that comes from a sincere understanding of and a deep relationship with my Savior.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to remember to lean on you when I struggle with anything and give you all the glory when things work out correctly.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

