Woe to you, Jason Roebuck!

Standard
Ashes imposed on the forehead of a Christian o...

Ashes imposed on the forehead of a Christian

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Woe to you, Chorazin! Woe to you, Bethsaida! For if the mighty deeds done in your midst had been done in Tyre and Sidon, 12 they would long ago have repented in sackcloth and ashes.”  (Matthew 11:21)

Observation:  As I read these words of Jesus this morning, I immediately thought of how much his words relate to me.  The Lord died for my sins and is offered in the Eucharist for me to receive daily, and yet I still sin.  I don’t know exactly what a modern-day version of sackcloth and ashes would look like, but I believe it would start with a sincere confession and then I should carry around a repentant heart with me.  I guess humble clothing could be a modern-day sackcloth, and ashes could be the ashes we receive on Ash Wednesday to remind us of our returning to dust.  My ashes could also be my prayer life that is a constant reminder of my need of God’s grace to keep me from sin.

Personification: Gentleness  It will be my intention today to act with a gentle heart to remind myself of my frailty in falling prey to my sinfulness.  I would like to be worthy today of the Lord placing a t-shirt on me that reads, “Prays well with others!”

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be kind and gentle today, and not just to the children at our camp but to the adults and my own children as well.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

