The Word is alive…not just words on a page!

Standard
the Stainned Gless of depicting the Holy Spirit.

the Holy Spirit

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  But Moses answered the people, “Fear not! Stand your ground, and you will see the victory the LORD will win for you today. These Egyptians whom you see today you will never see again. The LORD himself will fight for you; you have only to keep still.”  (Exodus 14:13-14)

Observation:  While I was deciding on which of the readings to journal on this morning, I read a tweet from Father Mabura in Africa.  It said, “The LORD himself will fight for you; you have only to keep still.”  Exodus 14:14)  Now, this had been the one verse that had stuck out to me in the first reading already, and I was in the process of re-reading the scripture to decide if I was going to add any other verses to it, when I received the tweet.  The reason this is important is, because as we are across the world from each other, the Word of God is speaking to us and through us at the same time.  God is speaking through the Word of God and his power transcends all space and time to come alive for us.  This may have been a story that was passed down through oral tradition by our ancestors in faith, but the words are still living today as a reminder that the Lord is more powerful than anything that opposes his faithful people.  A special note of thanks to Father Jaspers for his homily last week, where he reminded me that the stories were originally passed down by oral tradition for many centuries before they were ever in written form.

Personification:  Gentleness  I will try to display the fruit of gentleness today.  It is important to be gentle when relating the message that I received this morning, in order that it doesn’t sound like boasting about my being plugged into the holy Spirit.  My hope is that if I get a chance to relay this story today, it will come across with all humility and gentleness, to highlight the power of God and not any importance that there may or may not be in my being a part of this story.

Prayer:  LORD, thank you for putting people in my life, like Father Mabura and Father Jaspers, our new Pastor, to shepherd me into being the man who you have created me to be.  I hope that I can live up to the witness that they are giving me, by being faithful to the Word of God and the sacred tradition of our Holy Mother Church.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “The Word is alive…not just words on a page!

  1. This is exciting to read! While we are connected to other believers as members of the same Body, it’s always so affirming to be in DIRECT contact with someone. This is the kind of encouragement we all need.

  2. Cynthia,

    As much as you say that you are encouraged to read my story about God coming through and speaking to me through my contact with Father Mabura, I am encouraged by your reading it and knowing that it touched you is extremely important to my faith in continuing to write my experiences down.

    God bless you!

    Jason

Leave a Reply

