Lord, give me the power of grace filled speech…

Standard
Santa Maria della Concezione

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  And stretching out his hand toward his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers. For whoever does the will of my heavenly Father is my brother, and sister, and mother.”  (Matthew 12:49-50)

Observation:  As I was in an instant message conversation with my earthly father this morning, it seems right that I would read this gospel message today.  The first reading was very moving, in that it reveals the great power and protection of God over his people.  However, the gospel message is one that I wish I could really live out in my life.  In my title for my journal today, I wrote out the beginning of my prayer for today and I will rely on the holy Spirit to guide me to the words that will complete the thought that was began there. 

Personification: Self-Control  It is my intention to continue to display the fruit of self-control that comes from the holy Spirit.  It is my hope that I will not wander too far from God’s grace, to stay under the protection of the power of God.  I should be able to surround myself with other disciples today that will help me protect myself from evil, but for those times that I have to venture out, I will pray for the protection of Saint Raphael and Saint Michael, the Archangels, who have always been there for me, even though I have not always felt their presence.

Prayer:  Lord, give me the power of grace filled speech and continue to guide me to those people who are ready to hear it.  It is my hope that you will bring my family along with me, but you will keep at a distance those that don’t believe in you, as I journey through this world with your disciples.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

