Thanks Mary Magdalene for revealing our proper response to the Resurrected Christ…

Standard
Mary Magdalene

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Jesus said to her, “Mary!” She turned and said to him in Hebrew, “Rabbouni,” 9which means Teacher. Jesus said to her, “Stop holding on to me, 10 for I have not yet ascended to the Father. But go to my brothers and tell them, ‘I am going to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.'” Mary of Magdala went and announced to the disciples, “I have seen the Lord,” and what he told her.  (John 20:16-18)

Observation:  I see this morning the truth revealed through Mary Magdelene that when we get to encounter our Lord, like when we receive him in the Eucharist, we should hang on to that moment with all that we are.  Once we are back in the world, we should do what he tells us and work with his other disciples to spread the Good News that he has conquered death for all of us, and loves even the most hardened sinner.

Personification: Love  It would be very easy to get caught up in a discussion of the controversy that has been created by the heresies that surround Mary Magdalene, but I choose to focus on displaying the fruit of love that comes from the grace of God that I receive as a free gift.  I choose to walk with a repentant heart and not allow whatever grace I have received in the past or will receive in the future to make me full of pride. 

Prayer:  Lord, allow your grace to flow through me today, as it flows through Saint Mary Magdalene to us today as we remember our conversion and her sincere love for you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

