I will bless the Lord at all times…

Standard
Birgitta of Sweden on an altarpiece in Salem c...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  I sought the LORD, who answered me, delivered me from all my fears. Look to God that you may be radiant with joy and your faces may not blush for shame. In my misfortune I called, the LORD heard and saved me from all distress. The angel of the LORD, who encamps with them, delivers all who fear God. Learn to savor how good the LORD is; happy are those who take refuge in him. Fear the LORD, you holy ones; nothing is lacking to those who fear him. 3 The powerful grow poor and hungry, but those who seek the LORD lack no good thing.  (Psalm 34:5-11)

Observation:  I went to Mass this morning and heard the name of Saint Bridget of Sweden mentioned, but the Mass readings were from the normal readings for the Saturday in the sixteenth week in ordinary time.  I looked for about an hour for the optional readings listed anywhere on the internet, and I couldn’t find them.  I knew they were in the Daily Missal at the church, but it was confounding about why I could not find them anywhere else.  Anyway, once I got to the church this afternoon to pray the Divine Mercy chaplet and take my oldest son to finally do his first confession, I found them and read them.  It was the perfect Psalm for my son and myself to hear, since it will be my first confession since our last general reconciliation service here at Saint Alice before Christmas.

Personification:  Peace  I’d like to say that since I took the job working for the church as a Director of Religious Education and Coordinator of Youth Ministry, I have felt much peace and joy that I have not needed the Sacrament of Reconciliation as much.  However, the fact is that I was always able to justify not going because my schedule conflicted with the Confession schedule at Saint Mary’s. It is true that I really haven’t had much to confess, but it really isn’t the quantity of sins confessed as the quality of the confession.  I hope that I can display the peace that comes from the grace that I will receive after receiving the words of absolution from the priest and the forgiveness from God for the sins that I struggle with.

Prayer:  Lord, as I venture to Saint Mary Catholic Church to confess my sins this afternoon, allow me to really let go and confess all of my sins, so that I can get lost in the pool of God’s grace and forgiveness after I return.  Please help my son to make a good confession too.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

