Is there any life in you? Saint James, pray for us…

Standard
File:James son of Zebedee.jpg
James, son of Zebedee

Gift:   Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  9 So death is at work in us, but life in you. 10 Since, then, we have the same spirit of
faith, according to what is written, “I believed, therefore I spoke,” we too believe and therefore speak, knowing that the one who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus and place us with you in his presence.  Everything indeed is for you, so that the grace bestowed in abundance on more and more people may cause the thanksgiving to overflow for the glory of God.  (2 Cor 4:12-15)

Observation:  It is my hope that the answer that I can give to the question I posed in my title for my journal today is a resounding, “YES!”  Not for anything that I have done, but for the work that Jesus is doing in me.  I love the line at the end of the reading that says the grace will cause the thanksgiving to overflow.

Personification:  Generosity  I will focus today on displaying the fruit of generosity to everyone that I meet.  It is not about money, but rather being generous with the gift of grace that has been given to me in abundance.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be generous with the gifts that you have given me and let your grace flow through me to others that come into my path today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

