What do I have left to sell?

Standard
portrait of Matthew Evangelist and the first p...

Matthew Evangelist and his Gospel

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  When he finds a pearl of great price, he goes and sells all that he has and buys it.  (Matthew 13:46)

Observation:  Immediately after I wrote the title for my journal this morning, the thought occurred to me that maybe it is not about selling anything anymore for those of us that work for the church.  We have already accepted the servant mentality, so now it is about the final words of this verse that I chose from the Gospel reading for today’s Mass.  I need to not look for ways to sell what I have left, I need to look for ways to completely buy in to the Good News that our holy Mother Church is selling.  I will never see what I have left to give up, until I am completely aware of the cost of what I am buying.

Personification: Patience  I will focus today on the fruit of patience that comes from the grace that I will receive in the Sacrament of the Eucharist today.  I will look for how the Lord is revealing the truth of my path to fully accepting my call to be a servant in the church.  God has shown me time and time again that my family will be taken care of, and now I have to be willing to show him that I will be faithful to his call.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be the man who you have made me to be and keep me from sin.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

