Are we willing to get out of the boat, to prove it is Jesus calling us?

Standard
Mater Ecclesia

I chose this picture, because of the importance of the Eucharist in our daily lives...

Gift: Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  He said, “Come.” Peter got out of the boat and began to walk on the water toward Jesus.  (Matthew 14:29)

Observation:  When I heard the gospel reading at Mass this morning, I was reminded of the story that we heard from Steve Angrisano at Steubenville San Diego this past weekend.  Father Jaspers talked at Mass this morning in his homily about the fact that the church is supposed to be seen as the boat, and specifically the “nave” of the church can be translated as boat.  The nave is where the pews are that we sit on in the church.  However, in Steve’s story, he talked about how we too often remember that Peter started to doubt and not that he was actually walking on water for a minute or two.  For me, this verse is a great reminder that we must be willing to live out our faith, even when we have stepped off the boat like Peter did, when the other disciples didn’t, just like a lot of people today won’t wear their faith outside of church.  We will have times that we doubt, but we know that Jesus has promised to lift us back up and those times where he is holding us up, may be even more powerful than the times that we take our first steps out in faith.

Personification:  Self-Control  I may not have done very well at using self-control when revealing a dream that I had about one of our young women at our church as a nun.  It was only her and her boyfriend that showed up at bible study today, but since I had the dream about her as nun I had to share it with them.  The boyfriend still has the ability to make me feel like he is following God’s will for him in his life, and at the same time appears to be fighting off some pretty awesome demons.  For me, I am going to continue to try to display the fruit of self-control and not allow anyone to miss out on their experience of God, due to my lack of paying attention to how he wants to use me, even though it feels like I am overstepping other people’s boundaries some times.

Prayer:  Lord, create a clean heart in me and allow me to be your hands and feet in this world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

