Have pity on me, Lord, Son of David! I am tormented by a demon.

Standard
The Faith, sculpted in stone from Badajoz in 1...

The Faith

Gift: Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  And behold, a Canaanite woman of that district came and called out, “Have pity on me, Lord, Son of David! My daughter is tormented by a demon.”  Then Jesus said to her in reply, “O woman, great is your faith! 12 Let it be done for you as you wish.” And her daughter was healed from that hour.  (Matthew 15:22,28)

Observation:  This gospel reading was so meaningful to me today because of the obvious reasons that I have laid out in the title of my post today.  However, it is also important to realize that the woman who was speaking to Jesus about her daughter was not Jewish.  This is important for me because I still feel like God will not hear me when I pray sometimes because I was not raised in a Catholic/Christian home.  My mom would say that it wasn’t anti-religious, but we did not regularly attend any church services, so that is the definition of not being raised in a Catholic/Christian home.  Anyway, I know that Jesus is saying to us today that he is willing to rid our lives of the torment of any demons, if we show him our great faith, no matter what our family heritage is.

Personification: Faithfulness  This one was a no-brainer, Jesus said that he healed the woman’s daughter because of her great faith, so I will try to show the same great faith in order to have Jesus rid my life and my family of the torment of the demon, Asmodeus.

Prayer: Prayer for Healing

Glorious Archangel St. Raphael, great prince of the heavenly court, you are illustrious for your gifts of wisdom and grace. You are a guide of those who journey by land or sea or air, consoler of the afflicted, and refuge of sinners.

I beg you, assist me in all my needs and in all the sufferings of this life, as once you helped the young Tobias on his travels. Because you are the “medicine of God” I humbly pray you to heal the many infirmities of my soul and the ills that afflict my body. I especially ask of you the favor healing me of the torment of the demon Asmodeus, as well as healing for my family and by the power of God, casting Satan and the other evil spirits into hell, and the great grace of purity to prepare me to be the temple of the Holy Spirit. I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “Have pity on me, Lord, Son of David! I am tormented by a demon.

  1. I am not pretending to add to the Bible in any way. I only write about what the holy Spirit places on my heart to write, because I know that some of the things I struggle with, other people struggle with as well. If Raphael could help Tobias in the book of Tobit, I would hope that he would be willing to help us now with something that we struggle with. In the book of Tobit’s 12th chapter, the 21st and 22nd verses reveal the true identity of the Angel Raphael. Jesus is the way, but I don’t pretend to know him well enough to ask him to help me with everything yet. Besides, God’s truth is revealed in all of scripture, not just scripture that existed after Jesus. As for the demon, thankfully you have not been tormented by one before, so you would not understand the necessity of naming it, in order to rid it from your life. In the same book, the demon Asmodeus has killed off seven husbands, before they could have intercourse with their wife, Sarah. This is in the 3rd chapter and the 8th verse, you will see his name. In the future, it may help you to know your scripture a little better before you accuse someone of adding to the Bible. Thanks for challenge of reminding me of the story, because I am going to share the prayer of Tobit and Sarah with my wife tonight. We are blessed by the best and I wish you all of God’s blessings in the future.

    • By the way, I am sorry if your Bible does not include the book of Tobit, because it is an amazing story that reveals a lot of truth that allow us to see more clearly how our faith is so clearly Jewish in origin. It is 9:19pm and you are loved…God bless you!

  2. So, just to clarify…Real Catholics don’t pray to Mary, they pray for her intercession…The 54 million Catholics in America might disagree with your Protestant America…However, I wonder if South America would look different with Billy Graham and Rick Warren preaching about the wealth and prosperity that comes from plugging into the source of all good things. Please don’t get me wrong, I think all Christians are on the right track, but I take exception to you deciding that your disagreements with the church that Jesus founded on Peter gives you the right to question the authenticity of scripture that has been part of the official text for thousands of years. For your information, the Gnostics have been trying to bring down the Catholic church since the very beginning and yet it still stands in essentially the same framework that Jesus instituted through the Apostles and Peter, as the head. In mentioning Billy Graham and Rick Warren, I do not mean to belittle their contribution to the body of Christ, I just wonder how the sufferings that Jesus foretold in the Gospels could be changed, regardless of how we pray to rid the world of them. I sincerely thank you for your prayers and I am truly thankful to God for sending faithful Christians like you into my path who have learned how to plug in to the source of all good things, without the need of any intercessor. It is my hope that we will all meet in the third heaven some day with our eyes collectively fixed on His glory and singing his praises with one voice. God bless you, Jason

Leave a Reply

