Follow up from Tuesday…Peter walks on water!

Standard
Ivan Aivazovsky's painting Walking on Water (1888)

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  He said, “Come.” Peter got out of the boat and began to walk on the water toward Jesus.  (Matthew 14:29)

Observation:  I said in my journal on Tuesday that Steve Angrisano told a story about this gospel message, but never really explained the gist of his story.  Since the gospel was repeated for today’s Mass, I thought I would take this opportunity to follow-up and complete the message from Tuesday.  By the way, Steve got this from a book, which I did not catch the name of, but I think I had heard of it before.  Anyway, the point is that we usually remember this story for the fact that Peter doubted and started to sink, and then Jesus had to save him.  That is a good message for us, that Jesus will save us, but how often do we think about the fact that Peter was actually walking on water by himself out to Jesus and then beside Jesus on the way back to the boat.  Peter would remember this moment for the rest of his life that when he trusted Jesus, he was able to walk on water.

Personification: Patience  Too often, I spend a great deal of time thinking about the times that I failed Jesus or doubted, and not enough time thinking about the amazing things that I have been able to do when I trusted Jesus.  Now, I have never done anything like walk on water, but the simple fact that I have been able to persevere in faith, while most of my family would have had me give it up long ago, is no small miracle.  I will remember to have patience today and wait for the Lord to call me out of the boat and be ready to walk to him.

Prayer:  Lord, I am so thankful that you have carried me this far, and I hope that your patience with me will transfer to my patience for others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

