The law of God is for our own good…

Standard
Oldest image of Saint Dominic (unknown artist,...

Oldest image of Saint Dominic

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  “And now, Israel, what does the LORD, your God, ask of you but to fear the LORD, your God, and follow his ways exactly, to love and serve the LORD, your God, with all your heart and all your soul, to keep the commandments and statutes of the LORD which I enjoin on you today for your own good?  (Deuteronomy 10:12-13)

Observation:  This morning, it was something else that I journaled about during our communion service, but maybe I will get a chance to write about that tomorrow.  Anyway, I came home after the communion service, that was in Spanish, by the way, and read through the readings one more time and the two verses are what struck me about the readings for today.  Maybe it was that we remember Saint Dominic today, because he was known for his strict adherence to the law, or just the simple fact that I need to remember that if God inspired a law that comes from the church or one of God’s prophets, it is for my own good that I should follow it. 

Personification:  Faithfulness  I didn’t even have to go back and look at the list of fruits today, because I know that God is calling me to display the fruit of faithfulness to the law today.  I hope that, for my own good, I can repent of all my evil thoughts today and be faithful to all of his commands.

Prayer:  Lord, give me the strength to follow your son today and the patience to know the right time to get my family together to pray the rosary.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

