A cheerful giver…

Standard
46 is the earliest (nearly) complete manuscrip...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Consider this: whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully.  Each must do as already determined, without sadness or compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.  (2 Corinthians 9:6-7)

Observation:  Unfortunately for me, I think my giving to the church has too often been out of compulsion lately.  It is no longer with sadness that I give, like I used to, because I try to give every month from the first ten percent of my paycheck.  This keeps me from missing the money, because it is gone before I start to pay any other bills.  However, I feel like I have not been doing it willingly lately, rather out of some desire to do what is right.

Personification:  Joy  In order to display real joy that comes from the grace of God, I must be willing to do what is right for the sake of building up the kingdom and because I want to do it.  To follow-up on yesterday’s post, I must make a habit out of it, so I can allow God’s grace to change my old attitude about giving.

Prayer:  Lord, give me a cheerful heart in all things that I do for the Lord.  Please allow my family to share in the joy that comes as a fruit of having a cheerful heart for giving to you and your church.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “A cheerful giver…

Leave a Reply

