My daily commitment to my family…revisited!

Standard
Fear of the Lord

Fear of the Lord

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  If it is displeasing to you to serve the LORD, choose today whom you will serve, the gods your ancestors served beyond the River or the gods of the Amorites in whose country you are dwelling. As for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”  (Joshua 24:15)

Observation:  The last sentence in this verse from the book of Joshua in the old testament makes up part of my daily prayer that I say every morning.  Since it was in the first reading for Mass this morning, I thought that I would reconsider the context of this commitment and decide if it still makes sense to be praying it every day with the rest of my daily prayers.  The conclusion I came to is that I should be even more committed to saying this prayer in the morning, and try to remember the context of the rest of this reading to think about all the other gods that we have in this world and no longer give any time or my attention to any of them.

Personification: Self-Control  It is only by the grace of God that I can display the fruit of self-control in my life.  It is my hope that God will grant me the grace necessary to rid my family of any allegiance to any other thing that could be construed as a false god.  I will include money, lust and power as the main three false gods that I will focus my attention on ridding from our lives.  Thankfully, the money issue is mostly taken care of, but I could still use some humility built up in all three areas, and grace to rid our lives of any worship that we do to any of these minor gods.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be a leader in my family and show my wife and children that I am faithful to you alone.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

