How many signs do we need to know that God is calling us?

Standard
Veni, Dator Munerum

Veni, Dator Munerum (Come, giver of gifts)

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  The LORD turned to him and said: Go with the strength you have, and save Israel from the power of Midian. Is it not I who send you?  He answered him, “If you look on me with favor, give me a sign that you are the one speaking with me.  Please do not depart from here until I come to you and bring out my offering and set it before you.” He answered: I will await your return.  (Judges 6:14,17-18)

Observation:  As I read the first reading for today’s Mass readings, I was left asking myself how many signs do I need to prove to me that the Lord is calling me.  I mean, after last night’s Bible study, most people would be good for the rest of their lives in the knowledge that God is working through them to reveal the truth from the Word of God.  Me, however, I am left wanting more.  At first glance, if you knew what happened at our young adult Bible study last night, you would say what more do you need.  However, I think that it is not just our faith but our longing for God to continue revealing his truth to me in new ways, that keeps my humanity and propensity to sin in check.

Personification: Gentleness  To me, to be able to display the fruit of gentleness, would be the surest sign of God’s working through me with his grace, because I am normally not a very gentle person.  Most people would say that I normally have the tenderness of a lumbering giant.  However, it is with great humility that I fall on the mercy of God to allow me to show this gentleness, especially to my family today.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to seek you in all things and to never take my heart out of your reach by reaching for things of this world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “How many signs do we need to know that God is calling us?

Leave a Reply

