Today, I am reminded why I am Catholic!

Standard
The daughter of Jephthah (1879)

The daughter of Jephthah (1879)

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  At the end of the two months she returned to her father, and he did to her as he had vowed.  (Judges 11:39a)

&

Then the king said to his attendants, ‘Bind his hands and feet, and cast him into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.’  Many are invited, but few are chosen.”  (Matthew 22:13-14)

Observation:  I read the readings yesterday, because I had some quiet time at my desk in the afternoon in the office all by myself with no computer to distract me.  I hoped that I would be inspired to see the readings and know that I had a great message to deliver at our communion service this morning.  The readings were not immediately inspiring, however.  As a matter of fact, the first reading in particular was pretty hard to even read.  So, I read it again in my Bible, hoping to get some more of the back story and remind myself why Jephthah would have been allowed to carry out such a vow.  The thing I found was an explanation of many of the stories that we read in the old testament that explained that had Israel not strayed from the path laid before them by God, none of the atrocious things that are recounted in the old testament would have been necessary.  I hear also in the readings the call to sincerely repent of all evil and work to eradicate evil from our world, to make sure that the tragedies that seem to be a part of our lives, here in the last few years, cease and God’s favor is found in our community of faith again.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It is my hope that I can display the fruit of faithfulness in my life, so that it will be clear to God that I am not willing to stand by and let the injustices, that have been so much a part of our society, stand as a part of who I am.  For me, I hope to be able to continue to stand up and say that we must think of the less fortunate in our society first and then we can work to start saving and building for the future.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for bringing me to the Catholic Church, so that I can be fed by the Word of God daily.  I am very thankful to the nourishment that you provide for my soul from the old and new testament of the Bible and I am sorry for not always being attentive to it.  I ask that you keep me humble and always firmly rooted in your Word to guide my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

