Once again, an outsider teaches us about real faith…

Standard
Naomi entreating Ruth and Orpah to return to t...
Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  But Ruth said, “Do not press me to go back and abandon you!  Wherever you go I will go, wherever you lodge I will lodge.  Your people shall be my people and your God, my God.  (Ruth 1:16)

Observation:  I read the readings this morning at home and was distracted by a search for a publisher for my wife’s book and did not get back to picking a verse to journal on.  However, when I got to the office and started up my computer, I remembered that I had told Hillary, one of the young adults that attended our Bible study last Monday night, to start reading the book of Ruth.  I think it is quite amazing how the holy Spirit was working through me to show Hillary that God is calling her to be attentive to the readings for Mass daily, if she isn’t already.

Personification:  Love  It is my hope that I can continue to display the fruit of love by reminding myself and others, who God places in my path, that the love of God is waiting for us in his Word.  It is true that I can and do read it apart from the daily readings for Mass, but it is in union with the holy Spirit that I believe the Word comes to us through the readings.  So, if we are looking for a real experience of God’s presence in our lives through the Word, I believe the daily readings are the best way to create a relationship with God, whereby He can reveal the truth about life to us in a real way.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay rooted in the Word of God, not only in the daily readings but also in the following of our church in the way that we celebrate different liturgies and events in the world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

