How am I blind, just like the Pharisees?

Standard
Jesus at the house of the Pharisean, by Jacopo...

Jesus at the house of the Pharisean

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  “Blind guides, who strain out the gnat and swallow the camel! Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, you hypocrites. You cleanse the outside of cup and dish, but inside they are full of plunder and self-indulgence. Blind Pharisee, cleanse first the inside of the cup, so that the outside also may be clean.”  (Matthew 23:24-26)

Observation:  As I read the Gospel reading for today’s Mass readings this morning, I realized that I am like the blind Pharisee that Jesus is talking about.  I spend so much time focused on being faithful to my spiritual exercises, I often forget about what the exercises are supposed to be getting me ready for.  That is, living my life in a manner that is worthy of the Gospel.  I know that I will always come up short, but I am hearing this morning a call to work on deepening the relationships that I currently have and allow them to be the purity that displays my faith.

Personification:  Love  This morning and today, I am going to make a special attempt at displaying the fruit of love in my life, and this time I don’t mean by showing how disciplined that I can be.  I hope to be able to love the people that are closest to me in a way that effect the people around us.  I don’t know if it will work, but I know that God wants me to try it.

Prayer:  Lord, show me the way to love everyone that I come in contact with today, and in a real way let me love those closest to me, so that more disciples will come to you as a result of your grace.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit. Amen.

Leave a Reply

