Where is our exorcist?

Standard
Jesus drives out a demon or unclean spirit, fr...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Jesus rebuked him and said, “Be quiet! Come out of him!” Then the demon threw the man down in front of them and came out of him without doing him any harm.36They were all amazed and said to one another, “What is there about his word? For with authority and power he commands the unclean spirits, and they come out.”  (Luke 4:35-36)

Observation:  I struggled with whether or not I should journal today or not.  I loved to hear the message of Jesus conquering the demon and driving him out of the man who called him out during the temple worship at the synagogue.   I personally know the evil that seduces me, but I have never known anyone who is tormented by a demon to the point where there is a need for an exorcist.  I mean we all reject the lure of evil during our Easter Vigil service, but again the idea of someone who is so far gone that they need an exorcism seems so removed from my understanding.

Personification:  Gentleness  It is my hope that I can display the fruit of gentleness in my life, so that everyone who sees me knows that I am not willing to comply with evil in any form in my life.  If I could only be as gentle as my wife and remember to always love everyone the way that God loves me, I would be a lot less likely to give in to whatever evil thoughts that I may have.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be the disciple that you want me to be and follow your orders expicitly without fail.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Where is our exorcist?

Leave a Reply

