We can still leave everything and follow him…

Standard
Jesus and Saint Peter, Gospel of Matthew 4.18-20

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  From the day we heard about you, we do not cease praying for you and asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of God’s will through all spiritual wisdom and understanding to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, so as to be fully pleasing, in every good work bearing fruit and growing in the knowledge of God,
strengthened with every power, in accord with his glorious might,for all endurance and patience, with joy giving thanks to the Father, who has made you fit to share in the inheritance of the holy ones in light.  He delivered us from the power of darkness and transferred us to the Kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.  (Colossians 1:9-14)

&

When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at the knees of Jesus and said, “Depart from me, Lord, for I am a sinful man.” When they brought their boats to the shore, they left everything* and followed him.  (Luke 5:8,11)

Observation:  I wasn’t able to focus very well on the readings this morning, until I got the end of the 11th verse of the 5th chapter of Luke sent to me with the reminder of the readings from the USCCB on Twitter.  It wasn’t until I remember that God is calling me to leave my attachment to the things of this world behind, that I could read the first reading again and realize that the premise of my journaling activity is based on the general idea of this reading.  I mean, I didn’t have a problem realizing my need for forgiveness for sins, which was what I was about to journal on this morning, because the idea that Jesus has already delivered us into his kingdom out of the power of darkness is really amazing.  However, I couldn’t come to that realization if God hadn’t led me to this understanding that I must leave the things of this world behind.

Personification:  Joy  I haven’t chosen joy to focus on a lot in my journaling activity.  In the first reading, I was reminded that joy is the fruit that gives thanks to the Father for all that has been done in my life.  God will know that I am thankful for the gifts that are a part of my life, by the joy that I display throughout my day.

Prayer:  Lord, let me be joyful today and everyday and praise you with voice and my actions this day.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

