Rather, new wine must be poured into fresh wineskins.

Standard
Behold, I am Jesus Christ...

Image by was_bedeutet_jemanden via Flickr

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Rather, new wine must be poured into fresh wineskins.  (Luke 5:38)

Observation:  Today, I am seeing that God is calling me to repentance, but not just for the sake of recognizing my need for repentance.  I am hearing that God expects me to see that he completed his mission on earth by sending his Son to die for our sins, so I must remember that the battle is already won and if I choose to follow evil, it is my choice, not the evil that is winning over good.  The new wineskins are the new lives that God has planned for us, and the new wine is the new lives that we live in Christ.  Even though, I recognize that evil exists in the world, I must not choose to give it power by complying with it’s plans for my life.

Personification:  Love  Today, I choose to display the fruit of love in my life to put my life in the order that God intended it to be.  I want to be an instrument of his love and I know that I can only do that by the grace of God, and by my choice to not comply with the evil forces at work in this world.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be the man who loves his family and friends in the way that you intend for me to love them, unconditionally and without fail.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

