Correct evil, but do it out of love for your neighbor’s salvation…

Standard
Prophet Ezekiel, Russian icon from first quart...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  When I say to the wicked, “You wicked, you must die,” and you do not speak up to warn the wicked about their ways, they shall die in their sins, but I will hold you responsible for their blood.  (Ezekiel 33:8)

&

Love does no evil to the neighbor; hence, love is the fulfillment of the law.  (Romans 13:10)

Observation:  I chose to focus on the gift of courage today, because it is just these two readings for today’s Mass that should give me the courage to stand up to wickedness done by the people who are closest to me.  It is not out of some sense of self-righteousness that I should correct them, but rather because I want to spend eternity with them in heaven.

Personification:  Kindness  I am displaying kindness by not telling the wicked things that I have seen just in the past couple of days from the people who are close to me, but I could also retell many of the same stories about myself.  If I am to correct any wickedness, I must remember that but for the grace of God, I would be doing the same thing.

Prayer:  Lord, watch over me and my extended family today and everyday, so we will correct each other and learn how to walk in your ways.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Correct evil, but do it out of love for your neighbor’s salvation…

Leave a Reply

