I defer to my son’s thoughts for today…I am not afraid of 2012, because…

Standard
Stained Glass - Nativity of Jesus

Stained Glass - Nativity of Jesus

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  “Behold, the virgin shall be with child and bear a son, and they shall name him Emmanuel,” which means “God is with us.”  (Matthew 1:23)

Observation:  I read the first reading for today’s Mass to my son, Chad, this morning.  I chose to read the reading from the letter to the Romans.  After I read it and a few moments had passed, Chad asked me if I knew why he was not afraid of 2012…I said no.  He said because, “God is with us!”  It is entirely possible that he read forward in the readings today, but judging by his surprise when I told him what I read next, I don’t think he did.  I read the gospel reading for today’s Mass, that both choices for today end with “God is with us.”  I shared with him that he had just created a moment for me, and he must be getting used to it, because it wasn’t such a big deal to him, even though he was surprised.  He is 12, and I know God has great plans for his future.

Personification:  Faithfulness  Today, I am going to display the fruit of faithfulness in my life by remembering the words of my son and the gospel today.  I will remember that God is with us and the grace that flows from the sacrament that I will receive at Mass this morning will be enough to carry me through my day.  God is good…All the time!

Prayer:  Oh my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended you and I detest all of my sins because of your just punishments, but most of all because they offend you, my God, who are all good and deserving of all my love.  I firmly resolve, with the help of your grace, to sin no more and to avoid the near occasion of sin.  Amen…All the time…God is good!

Leave a Reply

