It is not about do what I say, but listen to what God says…And do it!

Standard
fresco at the Karlskirche in vienna (by Johann...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  But the one who listens and does not act is like a person who built a house on the ground without a foundation. When the river burst against it, it collapsed at once and was completely destroyed.”  (Luke 6:49)

Observation:  It is only when we hear his voice that we need to act on what he is telling us…Right!  The challenge is to try to hear his voice at every moment.  Some people call it your inner voice, but I call it the voice of the holy Spirit.  Usually, for me it is just a whisper but I know at times it has been much louder than a whisper.  It is those times that the voice of the Lord is louder than a whisper that are life changing, and the times that he comes to you as a whisper, that you are being led to stay on track.

Personification: Self-Control  In order to be able to display the fruit of self-control, I must be willing to listen to the whisper of the holy Spirit that will prompt when to steer clear of those things that could lead me to sin.  Also, I can rely on the direction of my guardian angel, who will act in accord with the holy Spirit to direct my steps, even when I forget to ask.

Prayer:  Angel of God, my guardian dear, to whom God’s love commits me here.  Ever this day, be at my side to light and guard, to rule and guide.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

