The Cross has power…Look to it for guidance…Be the Cross for those who haven’t seen it…

Standard
Fountain of Eternal Life

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  And just as Moses lifted up* the serpent in the desert, so must the Son of Man be lifted up,* so that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life.”  (John 3:14-15)

Observation:  When I first read this gospel reading this morning, I saw it as justifying my argument that I gave to one of the young adults about eternal life that is a quality of life, and not a certain period of time.  However, after going to communion service this morning, I was reminded that today is the Feast of the Exultation of the Holy Cross, and the idea of what Jesus’ crucifixion means to our daily lives, as well as our eternal salvation, really hit home for me.  I feel like I should see the cross as a reminder to conform myself to Him, as well as see the power that comes from the cross to keep me from evil.

Personification:  Love  There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for his friends.  I will display the fruit of love that pours out from the grace of God because of the sacrifice of His Son.  This love will manifest itself in different ways for different people, but they will hopefully be able to see Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross through my sacrifices for them.

Prayer:  Lord, guide me in your ways everlasting, and keep me from leaning on my understanding.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

