It is my sin that pierced Our Lady’s side with a sword…

Standard
The Madonna in Sorrow

The Madonna in Sorrow

Gift: Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  “(and you yourself a sword will pierce)* so that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.”  (Luke 2:35)

Observation:  The footnotes for this verse do not say why the beginning is placed in placed in parentheses, but my understanding is that it means that the original source of this story about the presentation of Jesus in the temple does not include this part.  For me, this morning it was if Luke was writing it directly to me.  From the moment I saw that it was the Memorial to Our Lady of Sorrows, I could feel that God was trying to tell me something about my sin.  I made it to my journal this morning, so I am happy to say that my sin did not prevail over me this morning, but I must stay vigilant and rely on the Virgin Mary’s intercession to help me conquer my sin.

Personification: Patience  I am thankful to God that he is patient with me, and I will show my thankfulness by patiently waiting for others to join me at Bible study today.  The first reading tells me to use the gift that God has given me, and I will hopefully be able to use it today and everyday for the rest of my life.  The grace of God that keeps me from sin, will also keep me in his Word.

Prayer:  Lord, please continue to shower your grace over me, because without your grace I am stuck in my sin.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

