God may stir the heart of a king, but the people must work to build the temple!

Standard
The Knesset Menorah, Jerusalem (detail - The p...

Jeremiah

Gift: Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:   In the first year of Cyrus,* king of Persia, in order to fulfill the word of the LORD spoken by Jeremiah, the LORD stirred up the spirit of Cyrus king of Persia to issue a proclamation throughout his entire kingdom, both by word of mouth and in writing: “Thus says Cyrus, king of Persia: ‘All the kingdoms of the earth the LORD, the God of heaven,* has given to me, and he has charged me to build him a house in Jerusalem, which is in Judah. Those among you who belong to any part of his people, may their God be with them! Let them go up to Jerusalem in Judah to build the house of the LORD the God of Israel, that is, the God who is in Jerusalem.  (Ezra 1:1-3)

Observation:  As I thought about how I must work to build our church, I was struck by the fact that it is going to take some humility on my part and the part of the parents who are bringing their children to Religious Education classes to prepare for reception of the sacraments, to get through this change to a two-year program.

Personification: Faithfulness  I had a completely different idea about what I would say about the reading today when I started journaling this morning.  However, I must remember that this is not my work being done, but rather God’s work that I am trying to allow to be done through me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me remember to share God’s word with everyone I meet today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

