And as for you, Springfield…?

Standard
Church over the house of Petrus

Church over the house of Petrus (Capernaum)

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  And as for you, Capernaum, ‘Will you be exalted to heaven? You will go down to the netherworld.’” Whoever listens to you listens to me. Whoever rejects you rejects me. And whoever rejects me rejects the one who sent me.”  (Luke 10:15-16)

Observation:  The first reading from the book of Baruch and the responsorial for today’s Mass are quite dark in tone.  So, it is not surprising that I would feel led to question the response of the town, where my family lives, to the preaching and the prophets that are working in our midst today.  It is similar to the question that Jesus asked to Capernaum, but I don’t already know the response of the people in my town, like Jesus knew what the response would be in Capernaum.  I know the majority of people in my town will not hear the question, but I am hoping that enough will hear that it will be possible to feel some sense of brotherhood here in Springfield, OR, as I continue my mission to preach the good news of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Personification: Generosity  It is only by grace that I can give of myself to others.  I must try to remember today that it is not about monetary gifts, but rather the gift of my time and love that will be remembered.  It is my hope that it is remembered by the ones that I am able to give it to, so that they will pass on the gift to others, and ultimately that my gift bring glory to God in heaven.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

